12
Feb
10

Day 3: Beijing, Summer Palace




God bless the man and his son in the Plum Sauce Fried Egg Crepe stand outside our hotel.  Bless their hearts.  Breakfast is so fast, cheap, and delicious.  I lament that I have neither the skills nor the resources to make this delectable treat myself.

The Summer Palace is an enormous estate spotted with temples and buildings all centered around a huge man-made lake.  I think the logic was that either the location or the lake make for cooler temperatures than the palace at the Forbidden City.  The first thing I noticed when we got there was the noise.  It wasn’t cicadas chirping or monks chanting or water splashing.  It was fifty thousand little Chinese kids blowing wantonly on shrill, piercing bird calls.  Why, in the world, a parent would allow their child to run around with that heinous contraption jammed in front of their face I couldn’t figure out.  It was like the kids didn’t even have to breathe – a constant, never-ending exhale.

I think all those kids may have put us on edge.  At some point Kristy and I saw a little girl with some sort of droopy, floppy, glistening jelly popsicle.  Overcome with disgust at the gruesome looking snack, Kristy looked at the girl like she should be institutionalized for eating it, and I said loudly, point blank to her face, EW.  It was reflex.

**A note on why I so brazenly shouted into a Chinese girl’s face.  I became aware at some point during the trip that speaking only to the same two people for days and days had created an interesting effect: I didn’t think anything I said to anyone else could actually be heard.  I actually began to feel like my words had no consequence when said to anyone other than my traveling partners.  So we would blatantly read people’s shirts and laugh at them.  And say EW to a little girl with a floppy sucker.  I must have started really early if I was doing it on day 3.


5 Responses to “Day 3: Beijing, Summer Palace”


  1. February 12, 2010 at 10:53 pm

    excellewnt photos.
    the unbrella one is really cool.
    the folorn sense of it

  2. 3 Sam
    February 25, 2010 at 5:57 pm

    what was it that kristy said? something about this gosh darn frickin parasols? (pg version…)

  3. February 26, 2010 at 12:19 pm

    yeah something like that. all i have in my journal is “parasols = not for us.”

  4. March 19, 2010 at 6:01 am

    Lovely photos! Looking forward to more. Oh, and more colorful stories, too! 🙂


Leave a Reply

The very beginning:

Older Stuff

Flickr Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

Copyright

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License. Use of any photo for any reason without my permission is prohibited. Danke!

